Top Ranking vs. Southerngold – battle of the Santigold mixtapes


You know if the news made it to Entertainment Weekly that this mixtape from Terry Urban and Gold Coin can’t have much longer left to live on the internet. Southerngold, which mixes Santigold’s debut album with southern rap vocals, received a cease and desist order from Santigold’s record label, Downtown Records.

While I marginally prefer Top Ranking, the official mixtape released last fall by Santigold and Diplo, Southerngold puts a great new spin on the album and is definitely worth a listen.

Update: Santigold released the following statement:
“Some kid just hit me up about this on MySpace. It was the first I ever heard about it. I’ve never heard anything about this DJ or this remix, and certainly did not send a cease and desist letter. I’m a supporter of mixtape culture and intend to get to the bottom of it.”

Check out the mixtapes’ respective versions of Santigold’s “Shove It” below:

Southerngold – Still Tippin’ It (featuring Slim Thug and Mike Jones)

Top Ranking – Shuv It (Disco D Blend)

And speaking of Santigold, we’ll be seeing her at The Roots Picnic this Saturday and again when she comes to Terminal 5 on June 9.

Track list and download link after the jump…

1. M.I.A. Artistes (Ft. Pitbull & Ying Yang Twins)
2. You’ll Find A Way Player (Ft. Andre 3000 & Bun B)
3. Still Tippin’ It (Ft. Slim Thug & Mike Jones)
4. Can’t Say It (Ft. T-Pain)
5. Creating Kryptonite (Ft. Purple Ribbon All-Stars)
6. Fire Superman (Ft. Lil’ Wayne) [Prod. By Mike Cash]
7. Hustlin’ With The Lights Out (Ft. Rick Ross)
8. Shawty Is Starstuck (Ft. The Dream)
9. Unfreakable Girl (Ft. Gucci Mane)
10. Nann Lady (Ft. Trick Daddy & Trina) [Prod. By JKhan]
11. Anne’s Plan (Ft. Chip Tha Ripper) [Prod. By Mike Cash]
12. You’ll Go Crazy (Ft. Young Jeezy) [Prod. By Mike Cash]

Download: Terry Urban & Gold Coin – Southerngold




Follow us on twitter  Join us on Facebook  Subscribe to the RSS Feed  Subscribe to the feed via email
HOUS Collections - fashion tops Hous247

Recent Photos

Thom Yorke\'s Atoms for PeaceEd Banger Records After PartyWolf + Lamb vs. Soul ClapSXSW '10 Day 2ModeselektorChiddy Bang\'s \'Opposite of Adults\' Release Party